Home   Awards

New Entrant to Commercial Agriculture

The nomination of this category aims to evaluate candidates according to their sustainability.

The main factors used for adjudication are:

  • The maintenance and increasing biological productivity
  • Lowering of risks to ensure greater security
  • Maintenance and management of the natural resources
  • Economic sustainability
  • Social acceptability and justification

These factors are then evaluated under the following divisions:

  • A broad overview of the farming enterprise with a focus on the candidates’ distinctiveness.
  • Biological productivity – the manner in which the candidate maintains and increases the farming operation’s biological productivity.
  • The candidate’s ability to hedge against all forms of risks that could have an impact on the enterprise.
  • Maintenance and management of the natural resources – the candidate’s ability to maintain and improve the natural resources.
  • Economic sustainability and the candidate’s modus operandi to ensure sustainability.
  • Social responsibility and trusteeship – steps taken by the candidate to ensure that the farming enterprise is socially acceptable and justifiable. This involves, among others, own and workers’ remuneration, support to workers and their families at social level, community empowerment and support.

Winners of the New Entrant to Commercial Agriculture of the Year Award

  • 2005 Anna Bock
  • 2006 Lina Mabaso
  • 2007 Themba Hinana
  • 2008 Marlon de Jager
  • 2009 Luthanda Farmworkers Trust
  • 2010 Niklaas Slinger
  • 2011 Agri Dwala Trust
  • 2012 Jacky Goliath
  • 2013 André Cloete
  • 2014 Ralph & Preline Swart
  • 2015 Gugu Mlipha
  • 2016 Eric Mtlaba
  • 2017 Warren Bam
  • 2018 Leonard Mavhugu
  • 2019 Dirk Louw
  • 2020 Not awarded due to Covid-19 lockdown
  • 2021 Agmat Brinkhuis (Chamomile-Boerdery)
  • 2022 Tshilidzi Matshidzula
  • 2023 Sophy Musabeni