The Agricultural Writers SA Awards 2023 event, sponsored by Santam Agri, FNB, Syngenta and Van Loveren, recognises the work of those seeking to elevate food security and rural economies.


National Farmer of the Year: Te Water Boerdery

Dewald te Water adds value to every product produced by the Boerdery, whether it is corn, soybeans, oats, or cattle. 

New Entrant to Commercial Agriculture: Sophy Litshani Musabeni – Vhegies

Sophy started her farming by planting Swiss Chard spinach, a very common and popular leaf vegetable among the locals. Her farming operations grew exponentially over the past two and a half years – she now owns a company named Vhegies of chioce the core business is to supply fresh vegetables to the surrounding communities and the Johannesburg and Springs markets. She also farms on another piece of land in the Boksburg region and expanded to farm in Limpopo as well.

Agriculturalist of the Year: Dr Dirk Trotskie

Dr Trotskie is the Director: Business Planning and Strategy at the Western Cape Department of Agriculture. He is responsible for providing advice and information on strategic issues to the department and the Setor: Matters of strategic relevance are research, innovations proposed and the impact and outcome of interventions are evaluated.