Home   Awards

Farmer of the Year

Farmer of the Year

The nomination of this category aims to evaluate candidates according to their sustainability.

The latter refers to the farming method that will enable the farmer to achieve success in all fields, but continue farming successfully while using the land and farming enterprise in a manner that will allow his/her progeny to continue with these operations.

The main factors used for adjudication are:

  • The maintenance and increasing biological productivity
  • Lowering of risks to ensure greater security
  • Maintenance and management of the natural resources
  • Economic sustainability
  • Social acceptability and justification

These factors are then evaluated under the following divisions:

  • A broad overview of the farming enterprise with a focus on the candidates’ distinctiveness.
  • Biological productivity – the manner in which the candidate maintains and increases the farming operation’s biological productivity.
  • The candidate’s ability to hedge against all forms of risks that could have an impact on the enterprise.
  • Maintenance and management of the natural resources – the candidate’s ability to maintain and improve the natural resources.
  • Economic sustainability and the candidate’s modus operandi to ensure sustainability.
  • Social responsibility and trusteeship – steps taken by the candidate to ensure that the farming enterprise is socially acceptable and justifiable. This involves, among others, own and workers’ remuneration, support to workers and their families at social level, community empowerment and support.

Winners of the Farmer of the year award

  • 1977 Martin Daling
  • 1978 Hendrik van Zylli
  • 1979 Gilbert Biggs
  • 1980 Jacob de Villiers
  • 1981 Gerhard Braak
  • 1982 Anthony Evans
  • 1983 Tobie Meyer
  • 1984 Bertie van Zyl
  • 1985 Andries Pienaar
  • 1986 Freddie Kirsten
  • 1987 Jan Linde du Toit
  • 1988 Ivor Karan
  • 1989 Willie van Aarde
  • 1990 Robert Zulch
  • 1991 Kallie Schoeman
  • 1992 Dries Bruwer
  • 1993 Gerdie Landman
  • 1994 Ben van Greunen
  • 1995 Dr Paul Cluver
  • 1996 Lourens Jonker
  • 1997 Kosie Loubsher
  • 1998 Peter Pentz
  • 1999 Fred Visser
  • 2000 Saag Jonker
  • 2001 Dr Kobus Hendriks
  • 2002 Charl Senekal
  • 2003 Eddie Prinsloo         
  • 2004 Gert Pretorius
  • 2005 Casper Badenhorst
  • 2006 Louis de Kock



For more information on COVID-19 and government regulation: Click here

Emergency Hotline: 0800 029 999 WhatsApp Support Line: 0600-123456