Winners of our 2018 Farmers and Agriculturist of the year awards

At a gala event held in Stellenbosch on 16 November the Agricultural Writers SA announced the winners of the 2018 National Farmer, New Entrant into Commercial Agriculture and Agriculturist of the Year. The main sponsors of the event was Bayer, Santam Agriculture, Sanlam and Rovic Leers.

The three national winners are:

  1. The 2018 National Farmer of the Year is Pieter Graaff, a farmer from Ceres in the Western Cape.
  2. The 2018 New Entrant into Commercial Agriculture is Leonard Mavhugu, a farmer from the former Ciskei region of the Eastern Cape.
  3. The 2018 Agriculturist of the Year is Wandile Sihlobo, an agricultural economist from Gauteng.

Agricultural Writers SA 2018 Winners

South Africa hosted the International Agricultural Conference

South Africa hosted the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists’ (IFAJ) congress in 2017.

View the video ‘South Africa is different’ which was flighted during the bid.

Click here to view the gallery

Agricultural Writers SA

6 days 6 hours ago

Agricultural Writers SA shared a post.

Dié week op Landbouweekliks: Die Mahela-groep het diverse belange in landbou. ’n Projek net buite Orighstad is ’n bewys van hoe die Vorster-broers en hul pa geleenthede ontgin waar min dit sou raaksien. Vanaand om 19:30. (Saam met Landbouweekblad en geborg deur AFGRI, Bayer en DEKALB SA.)

Agricultural Writers SA

6 days 6 hours ago

We say goodbye to a remarkable colleague and friend - a journalist with an understanding of agriculture and its people and challenges, a firm leader with a soft touch. Alita, you will be missed.

After a prolonged battle with cancer that first started in 2008, Alita van der Walt, former editor of Farmer’s Weekly passed away yesterday following a very brief sick bed.

Alita held a B. Business Communication degree from the North West University and began her career as a designer at Caxton Community Newspapers in 2000. She then joined Farmer’s Weekly’s design team in 2003. She was recruited as managing editor and later as commercial manager and deputy editor for the magazine by then editor Chris Burgess. In June 2011 Alita was appointed as editor of the magazine, making her the first female to lead South Africa’s oldest magazine. She served as editor until December 2015 when she moved with her husband Hansie van der Walt and their two children to Tzaneen.

Our thoughts are with her family.

Subscribe to our mailing list
and stay up to date