Durbanville – The !Xhariep region played host to the Agricultural Writers SA Awards Regional ceremony on Friday, 6 October 2023, at Durbanville Hills, celebrating achievements in the agricultural sector
across the Western, Eastern and Northern Cape.

In a night of celebration and recognition, recipients in various categories took the spotlight, showcasing
remarkable individuals and businesses driving innovation and growth in agriculture.

DR. DIRK TROSKIE: Western Cape Agriculturalist of the Year
Dr. Dirk Troskie, formerly a farmer and lecturer and now a key figure in the South African civil service,
was named Agriculturalist of the Year in the Western Cape. Troskie has played an instrumental role in
the strategic planning and development of the Western Cape Department of Agriculture.

KLEIN GOEDERUST: Western Cape New Entrant to Commercial Farming
Klein Goederust, the first 100% black-owned wine farm in Franschhoek, and its owners Paul Siguqa
and his wife Makhosazana, earned the title of New Entrant to Commercial Farming in the Western
Cape. Their journey, from acquiring the farm in 2019 to establishing it as a must-visit destination after
planting their inaugural vines in 2021, is a testament to their entrepreneurial spirit and dedication.

BEE LOVED HONEY: Northern Cape New Entrant to Commercial Farming
Bee Loved Honey steered by Lesego Holzapfel emerged as the New Entrant to Commercial Farming in
the Northern Cape. A collaborative effort of previously disadvantaged small farmers, including 40
beekeepers in rural Northern Cape, their story embodies an African narrative of restoration, economic
empowerment, and environmental stewardship, demonstrating the transformative potential of

DELICO: Western Cape Farmer of the Year
DeliCo and the Truter family of De La Fontaine, fifth-generation Riebeek Kasteel farmers, were
announced as the Farmer of the Year in the Western Cape. Under the visionary leadership of Hendri
Truter as CEO, DeliCo has evolved into a leading agribusiness in the Western Cape, employing over 650
individuals and making significant contributions to the growth of the red meat industry.

Alderman James Vos, Mayoral Committee Member for Economic Growth for the City of Cape Town,
delivered a keynote address, emphasising the pivotal role of agriculture in economic development and

Peter Pentz, Chairperson of !Xhariep Agricultural Writers SA, delivered a speech highlighting the
resilience and hope exhibited by those in the agricultural sector. He remarked, “Despite facing
numerous challenges, the agricultural community continues to thrive, serving as a beacon of resilience
and inspiration. Their contributions are indispensable.”

The awards set the stage for the forthcoming national Agricultural Writers Awards scheduled to take
place on Friday, 17 November 2023, in Stellenbosch.

For media inquiries and further information, please contact:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.